By continuing use this site, you agree to the Terms & Conditions and our use of cookies.

Scandinavia is a subregion in Northern Europe, with strong historical, cultural, and linguistic ties. It is the home of the Vikings.

Today, Scandinavia is considered Norway, Sweden, and Denmark. Meanwhile, the term "Nordic countries" includes Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, and their associated territories including Greenland, the Faroe Islands, and the Ă…land Islands.

In the ethnic or cultural sense, the term "Scandinavia" traditionally refers to speakers of Scandinavian languages. These are mainly descendants of the peoples historically known as Norsemen. In this sense the term refers primarily to Danes, Norwegians, Swedes, Icelanders, and the Faroese.